The 2018 jury consisted of:

Margaret Livingstone: a Professor of Neurobiology at Harvard focusing on how the brain processes form, color, motion and depth. Her lab also uses what we know about vision to understand some of the discoveries artists have made about how we see. Some of these insights appear in her book “Vision and Art”.

Paula Albuquerque: an artist with a PhD in artistic research. She holds a BFA in Audiovisual Art from the Gerrit Rietveld Academy and an MFA in Video and Film from the Sandberg Institute. Paula’s artwork has been shown at i.e. Netherlands Media Art Institute, Boijmans van Beuningen Museum Rotterdam, Venice Biennale Rietveld Arsenale, Organhaus Art Space Chongqing, São Paulo Art Museum, Beijing Today Art Museum, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon and Paris, DeFKa Campis Assen Contemporary Art Museum and Bradwolff Projects in Amsterdam. She recently published her book: “The Webcam as an Emerging Cinematic Medium” with Amsterdam University Press.

Liz Tormes: works professionally as a photographer and holds a BFA in Printmaking from Middle Tennessee State University. Her clients include record labels, magazines, musicians, and non-profit organizations. Liz also works as a photo editor at Scientific American.

Theme — Timber
Art of Neuroscience, NIN-KNAW, Copyright 2011-2018
Back to top